Fruit Bruschetta

I found this recipe online while looking up healthy brunch recipes to impress my in-laws. They looked really impressive and were so light and tasty, but it turns out my mother-in-law is allergic to strawberries, so I ended up eating most of this by myself… which is ok… maybe not for my thighs, but I forgave myself. Of course one of the best things about this recipe is that it is so easily adapted to whatever fruits are in season. I can’t wait to try it in the summer with some fresh peaches and blueberries from the farmers’ market. Yum!

Fruit Bruschetta

Ingredients:
¼ pineapple, diced
6 oz. strawberries, hulled and diced
2 kiwis, peeled and diced
1 banana, diced
Sliced bread rounds (challah, baguette, etc. will do)
Butter
Cinnamon sugar
Vanilla yogurt

Directions:
Combine diced pineapple, strawberries, kiwi, and banana in a small mixing bowl. Mix well and set aside. Toast thinly sliced bread rounds until crisp and spread lightly with butter. Sprinkle each toast round with cinnamon-sugar. Spoon the fruit mixture on top of each round. Drizzle lightly with vanilla yogurt. Serve immediately.

Source: inspired by The Way the Cookie Crumbles

Leave a Reply

